Government should make laws about people’s nutrition and food choice. Other argue that is their choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today's society is more concerned about a healthier lifestyle. While some crowd believe that authorities should impose legislation with regards to nutritional value and meal preference, others think it's an individual decision. This essay will discuss why government measures are imperative in some instances but why individual preference is ultimately superior. Government legislation is certainly efficacious for the population who are not concerned about their well-being due to a hectic work schedule. These people spend more time at work rather than cooking healthy meals at home. As a result, they always end up ordering unhealthy greasy foodstuff from a restaurant. Moreover, they prefer to stay at home resting instead of exercising which eventually leads to obesity. To exemplify, recent quantitative research by Oxford University shows that over 43% of Americans are overweight owing to a competitive lifestyle as well as the easy availability of junk food. Hence, these regulations might prove advantageous for those who are having a poor work-life balance. As believed by some that it is a personal choice whether a person wants to follow a nutritional dietary or not. Firstly, the government can not analyse or keep a record of every person's dietary requirements as we live in a diversified society and every culture has a different food preference. Secondly, food manufacturing companies might take advantage of such laws and might cheat with the contents of food sold. Lastly, we are living in a democratic world and no one will appreciate such control over their choice of meals. For example, India is one of the most multi-cultural country and every religion follows different food patterns. As a result, it is evident that it is certainly vague to impose control over peoples food intake. In conclusion, although laws and regulations are necessary for controlling certain aspects of people's life, food is not one of them. This essay discussed why government laws are necessary but would fail based on personal preferences. In my opinion, everyone has the freedom to choose what they want to eat even though it has its untoward repercussions.