Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the healthcare budget is heavily allocated to treating an illness with little focus on preventing one. I completely agree with this opinion and think that the government should emphasize more on the importance of illness prevention and well-being education. Firstly, preventing an illness cost considerably less than treating one. The government must cover numerous aspects of a treatment procedure, such as the wage of healthcare workers and the relevant tools and materials required, which makes the treatment expensive. In contrast, preventing a disease cost little or no money. For example, it costs at least around $250 to treat dental decay in Australia due to expensive filling materials, while it requires no financial investment for individuals to brush their teeth regularly and properly to have healthy teeth. Therefore, advocating disease prevention and investing in health education can be much more cost-effective than covering treatments. Secondly, increasing effort in education and prevention can improve the public health status. The most prominent public health issue is shifting from infectious disease to chronic condition, which is largely preventable. According to research, around two-thirds of chronic diseases can be avoided if individuals steer clear of risky behaviours, such as smoking, overeating, and lack of exercises. For example, most primary lung cancer can be precluded by limiting one’s tobacco use. Thus, the government should endeavour to propagate the idea of healthy living as preventative care rather than to introduce advanced treatment as a consolation to people who have lost their health due to poor life choices. In conclusion, I strongly believe that when tackling illnesses, the authority should apportion more budgets on preventative actions rather than on medication because it can reduce the expenditure on healthcare and lighten the disease burden on society. It also helps improve people’s living quality and their well-beings.