By punishing murderers with death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are of the opinion that penalizing killers with the death sentence is parallel to committing murder, hence the legal system should opt for life imprisonment instead in cases of homicide. I totally disagree with this point of view, as there is no inherent difference between capital punishment and life behind bars, and the latter would be cost-ineffective. In respect to punishing murderers, execution and prison for life are similar conceptually and in a material manner also. Both retributions represent the desire to revenge against the offender of society, thus their meanings are identical. Regarding the tangible aspect, except for nations with superior social welfare such as Norway, the degree of suffering following confinement may not diverge greatly from that resulting from death. For instance, I once read in a newspaper that rapists were forced by other prisoners to wipe the bathroom's floor with their penises in Vietnamese jails. Therefore, there is no major discrepancy between putting criminals to death and locking them behind bars. Additionally, replacing the death sentence with lifelong incarceration is financially inefficient. To subsidize a large number of unemployed people will be a burden to taxpayers as taxes may have to increase. Moreover, instead of sponsoring public projects such as libraries, museums, healthcare, and pension, a bigger proportion of government funds would be spent on supporting those behind bars. That is to say, innocent citizens would have to bear the budgetary weight of substituting the death penalty with life confinement; this policy is quite economically absurd. To choose incarceration for life as an alternative for capital punishment is to waste resources without meaningfully making any changes. Therefore, I am completely against this shift in legal practice.