In most countries, despite the benefits of cycling, fewer and fewer people are using bicycles as a means of transportation Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Nowadays, people from many countries are neglecting bicycles as a mode of transportation, despite their benefits. This is because the majority of individuals own motor vehicles, such as cars and motorbikes. Governments should take up the responsibility and educate people about the health benefits of cycling. Firstly, cars are in most households. This is because of the ease of using engine-powered vehicles, they do not need much physical energy to run. Therefore, people do not have the need to use bicycles to commute because bicycles require effort and can be tiring. For example, many people in my community use their cars to travel small distances, even though they have bicycles sitting in their houses. People are accustomed to using cars because of the low energy they require. As a solution, governments can take initiative and spread the health -related advantages of cycling. They can advertise on TV channels or have a campaign stating that the cardio done by cycling can have huge benefits to one's heart health. By doing this, many people will be encouraged to ride bicycles as a means of transport to improve their health. For instance, when world governments illustrated the benefits of wearing a mask, the whole world listened. Therefore, I believe that everyone will give ear if governments do the same thing about cycling. In conclusion, fewer people in most countries are riding bicycles for transportation because of the ownership of cars in most houses. To fix this, governments can publish the health benefits of cycling to motivate more people to use bicycles.