some believe that tourism does more to create tension between countries rather than helping individuals better understand other cultures. to what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued by some that tourism has a damaging impact on international relations. I totally disagree with statment. Firstly, tourism promotes friendly relationships between countries instead of harming them. As a matter of fact, many countries use tourism as a diplomatic strategy to express good faith. For example, Thailand granted visa exemptions for Chinese tourists to facilitate economic and cultrual interactions between the two countries. In addition, there has been no report of tourism triggering fall-outs between countries. Therefore, it is doubtful to say that tourism negatively affect diplomatic relationships. Secondly, countries welcome tourists regardless of political disagreements. Tourism is one of the pillars that support the economy of many countries; thus, it is often preserved between countries even when there are thorny issues present. For instance, Australia and China have a major dispute on the handling of COVID-19 by the Chinese government, which resulted in both countries being embolied in a trade war. Nevertheless, the Australian government stated that it will endeavour to open the country's border to tourists from China when the pendemic is over. In conclusion, I personally think that toursim either facilitates connections between countrie country, or will be seperated from other political issues. In other words, tourism will not bring tension between countries.