For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

People ’s values are driven by the market. Today, the innovations in science and technology and the expansion of businesses are constantly offering people career opportunities with high job security. In comparison, the art field is more volatile with fewer job opportunities, which seems unattractive to many. The fact that the STEM field is more favoured by the market makes people view STEM as more essential to the country than art is. People ’s values are influenced by the governments. Nowadays, most countries’ GDP relies heavily on the fields of science, technology, and business. In response, the governments are providing incentives for people to contribute to the STEM field. For example, STEM education is promoted by governments that have discounted tuition fees in many countries. In contrast, the cost for arts degrees has been raised. As a result of the governments’ policies, people put more thought into choosing a STEM degree. Make artworks meaningful to the general public. People with a non- art background can find it hard to appreciate the technical aspects of an art piece. However, providing the meanings behind will allow people to connect with artwork by heart and thereby, develop an interest in art. For example, an art piece once exhibited in the local art museum named ‘Start Swimming’ comprises only the very two words by looking. However, it attracted attention because of the story that the phrase was intended to be an environmental warning referencing climate change and rising sea levels, which wakes up the public’s care and emotions to the urgency of climate change. In addition, the government can give people more exposure to artworks by hosting more free, outdoor art exhibitions that people can easily see. An example of such an event is Sculpture by the Sea, during which a hundred sculptures were exhibited along a populous beach area in Sydney. In conclusion, I think people value STEM more than art because the STEM fields make greater economic contributions and offer more promising careers. To enhance the role of art in society, the exhibitors can make the meanings behind artworks known to the audience, while the government can create more opportunities for people to be in an artistic environment.