With The Increased Global Demand For Oil And Gas, Undiscovered Areas Of The World Should Be Opened Up To Access More Resources To what extent do you agree?

Recently, the debate on whether the undiscovered areas should be opened up for people to get more resources has been heated. As far as I am concern, I can only agree with opening the covered zones for more resources to a small extent. More oil and gas can be provided to fulfil the needs with the opening up of the new zones. With the development of globalisation, the demand for oil and gas has experienced an upsurge. The increasing needs can grow so fast that the original areas can not provide enough raw materials. Therefore, if new sites can be used, human beings can be exposed to new resources, which can also prevent the original one from being exploited. However, the opening up of new sites can further boost the demand and damage the environment. Since human wants are unlimited, the limited resources may never be able to satisfy our greed. Opening up for more areas can lead to a misunderstanding that whenever we face a resources shortage, we can seek a new one and further exploit that again. In this way, people will never know how to cherish natural resources like oil and gas. Moreover, as these resources are mostly nonrenewable, the more we use, the less is available to our future generation. Therefore, it can be harder for us to reach sustainable development with the exploitation of the resources. In conclusion, although it is true that new zones can provide us with more raw materials like oil and gas to support our growth, it can also lead to the problem of over-extracting that can bring unreversed effect to our planet. If we cannot assure that we will learn how to save energy, we should not further discover new areas for our future sake.