Online shopping is replacing offline or shopping from stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people tend to purchase off of gadgets, rather than visit a physical shop. This has become a common trend. I believe, this is a negative development and this essay will explain this point of view with a few illustrations Firstly, this increasing trend to shop online is reducing the number of small outlets and putting them out of business, which in turn will make the few Internet marketing giants into monopolies. This will not bode very well for the individual consumer as prices will stop being competitive. For instance, the existence of Amazon or Flipkart has put paid to 'Mom and Pop' stores. These shopping sites are taking advantage of that and pricing their products at a level higher than what would have been available in a competitive market. This is going to impact the economy negatively as only a few people will be accumulating money. Secondly, shopping was always a social expedition into the cities various marketplaces. With the opposite thing happening, these trips have become a rarity. Online purchasing has isolated people from each other and social graces are slowly becoming a thing of the past. There are studies to show that people are becoming more impatient with each other when they have to wait in line at a supermarket bill counter. They end up treating the accountant and their fellow shoppers rudely. Hence the trend of buying from the Internet is making human beings insufferable which is detrimental to society. To summarize, the trend of online shopping overpowering local vendors is ruinous both to the economy as well as to the social fabric of a nation. If it is left uncurbed it will bring unprecedented problems into the society that will take a lot of time and effort to resolve.