Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Annual international sports event such as FIFA World Cup, The Olympic Games, and The Paralympic Games can be an advantage for the host country as it promotes them. On the other hand, it can create a financial problem for some developing countries that are desperate to gain an international recognition. It is not for without reason countries are competing to host prestigious international sports event. The advantage of hosting such as event is immeasurable, as the exposure of the country to the rest of the world can boost tourism. Thousands of people fly to the host country, millions of people watching from the TV, the country will try their best to show their best face to the rest of the world. For example, when Brazil host the 2014 FIFA World Cup, they built numbers of magnificent stadiums and new infrastructures, which as a result invited tourists and boost the economy as the government claimed. But from another point of view, building an infrastructure just for one time use can be seen as a financially foolish decision. These stadiums are then left abandoned after the event, but still need the cost for the maintenance, thus it can be seen as a time ticking bomb. Take Brazil as an example, after the FIFA World cup finished, they struggled to maintain these stadiums after spending all the budget for the event, creating another problem for an already financially struggling country. To conclude, going all out for such a prestigious international sports event might pay out eventually. Nevertheless, I still find the advantage it brings is not worth the financial sacrifices the country has to make, especially when the country itself is still struggling to bring food to the homes of its own people.