Some people regard the increasing business and cultural contact between countries as a positive development. Others, however, feel that this will lead to the loss of national identities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the frequency and depth of business and cultural contact between countries due to the advancements in internet connection and transportation. However, people hold different views about this phenomenon. Some individuals believe that the growing corporate and cultural connections have more positive and far-reaching effects. One primary reason in favour of this opinion is that this trend is beneficial for economic development. For example, some multinational corporations in developed countries make full use of cheap resources and labour in underdeveloped ones to produce cost-effective products to increase sales and profits. At the same time, these enterprises also create more jobs for individuals in deprived areas, which is conducive for them to increase their incomes and lead a better life. Besides, the increasing cultural contact is good for mutual understanding and global peace. Take films for an example. Watching a foreign movie or video is an appealing and energising approach for viewers to be aware of the language, history and ethos of the nation, which can help to improve their comprehension of exotic cultures. However, there are some opponents who think that the communication of businesses and cultures between countries will cause the loss of national identities. Some brands of multinational companies have relentlessly advanced into every corner of the world, ousting local manufacturing items. This trend contributes to not only the loss of cultural diversity worldwide but also the sad disappearance of the manifestation of the local unique cultures. On the other hand, this problem can be addressed by some methods. One example is to build some museums to exhibit those items being replaced, which is an effective way for locals to know their own cultures, avoiding and combatting the loss of national identities. In conclusion, I firmly agree that this trend is a positive development as it can enhance economic growth and mutual understanding of different cultures. Nevertheless, every country should take some action to retain and advertise their own cultures in case of the loss of national identities.