In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, smoking in public areas has been prohibited in most countries, and people often use designated places for this habit. I am absolutely agreed with this statement, and in this essay, I will explain the reasons for my opinion. To begin with, it is becoming a trend to forbid smoking in buildings, restaurants and parks, due to health and esthetic issues. Firstly, there are two types of smoking: passive and active. Therefore, in the first case, the individual is threatening only his health, but, in the second case, other people could be affected. Consequently, there should be specially designed places for smokers in each building, where they can satisfy their passion for smoking. Secondly, consuming tobacco inside the building leaves the nicotine odour on the walls and textiles, and makes them less valuable as a result. This fact forces landlords to prohibit smoking in apartments and public use areas. To continue, smoking in public areas not only can harm people’s health and property but also can have a negative effect on kids and teenagers. For instance, the younger generation is supposed to copy the behaviour of their elders, which, unfortunately, includes bad habits like smoking and alcohol consumption. As a result, in wanting to seem elder and trying to smoke at a young age, they will suffer dreadful effects on their development. In fact, the most recent survey conducted by Moscow State University revealed that juveniles who do not witness their parents smoking were more likely to avoid this habit. In sum, I maintain that every individual has a right to choose whether to smoke or not to smoke, but should do it in special places to protect others from the catastrophic consequences of nicotine addiction. I hope that in the near future people refuse tobacco obsession to build a healthier future for the following generations.