In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Young high school graduates are encouraged to work or travel for a year before entering university. Some people are challenging whether such a decision will bring benefits to teenagers. I believe that this decision will be comparatively more beneficial to high school students. There are some drawbacks of the gap year. It is undeniable that such behaviour could be an interruption to the general academic study procedure. Furthermore, high school graduates tend to be less competitive in the job market. There is an extremely high possibility that they would be offered a low skilled job opportunity and be treated as inexpensive labourers, which is undoubtedly a waste of time. For example, if some young people opt for a full year travel plan, then accommodations and transportations will come at a huge cost which could be an inevitable financial burden to their parents. The advantages of such a decision are quite prominent. Firstly,teenagers could be more cooperative because of the team collaboration fostered in the workplace. When it comes to the group assignment in the college, they will outdo others on the teamwork. Secondly, travelling alone would be extremely helpful in cultivating the independence of young people. As the consequence, it will accelerate the pace of adapting to university life while they are away from their parents. For instance, the gap year could be a tremendous contributor to a more broad horizon so that young students would be conscious of selections of future majors in universities, which will motivate their university studies. In conclusion, despite the disadvantages which some people may criticize, it is my firm belief that there are more benefits than drawbacks for students taking a break after graduation from high schools.