Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claim that governments should invest more in railroads. Others, however, hold the idea that it is preferable for governments to spend more money on roads. I am in favour of the former. It is undeniable that roads and highways are really handy. Since road transport primarily consists of motorcycles, cars and trucks, it is extremely versatile in term of transporting goods with time flexibility. But in this day and age, the railway's sector has a much more prominent advantage. Firstly, transport by rail has a low freight rate compared to transportation by other modes. Moreover, it can meet large volume and several kinds of commodities. Railways transportation is transportable across long distance too. For daily life, it can accommodate a large number of people so that traffic congestion is reduced and the emissions decrease dramatically. Due to this reason, the city would be more eco–friendly and the environment is better preserved. For example, as Singapore has an excellent railway system known as the MRT, most residents rarely drive their own cars. As a result, traffic jam and pollution are nonexistent in Singapore. Furthermore, with its fast speed, dwellers are able to reach the destination more quickly and might save time. To sum up briefly, I would agree that governments should upgrade transport infrastructure by investing more in railways, but I also believe that the decision of building railways or roads should be decided base on the natural condition of the area and the preference of citizens.