Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether the government strict punishments for wrong driving is sufficient or if other methods such as trained driving, awareness programs and better infrastructure are more important for safety has been raising a lot of debates. To begin with,just by the government penalizing the misbehaved drivers will not be simply sufficent.After an accident where the victim is injured or killed,fining and jailing the driver is just an after-step of the consequences.Though this can be a hard learning to the motorist,he will be more cautious with his consecutive travels,but this does not help the victim in anyways as he is already bleeding or has lot his life.A proactive measure needs to be in place such that it reduces such incidents before happening. Firstly, the training program needs to evaluate at theoretical and practical aspects of the person that if provided the license they will use it with better social responsibility.He/She needs to be examined if he is aware of the traffic rules of the country and understand various factors like board sign, speed limits, states culture and the consequences if he/she does not follow those. Secondly, proper awareness programs need to be set occasionally and have them invited, so that they are aware of any changes in the laws. Additionally, these programs can be used to show reports of trends in accidents in the city which will increase the people's awareness. For example, a report showing the trend of major and minor accidents in the cities can be as a precaution and people will drive with care. Finally,having cameras in cities and highways can help to identify misbehaved drivers who try to use electronic devices while computing or even druken drive and rash driving can be stoped by the cops anytime and get them off the roads to avoid accidents. In conclusion,strict punishments do help in keeping the roads safe but thats that the final step that should be taken in addition to having proper license issuing, awereness programs and monitoring of the vehicle movements which are more important and primarily help to avoid incidents in roads.