International tourism has bought enormous benifits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantage of international tourism outweigh the advantage.

The tourism industry has seen massive growth worldwide. Today, travelling abroad has become so common that some people travel even for leisure. This trend has brought many advantages to the communities and their inhabitants. However, people are also worried about the negative effects that it causes. This essay will state why the disadvantages outweigh the advantage. International tourism has been a key factor in the economic development of many communities around the world. There is no doubt that when tourists travel, they spend big amounts of money paying for goods and accommodation. It means that these communities will economically benefit from it. Cities and communities also witness improvements in the infrastructure of the roads and facilities when tourism is high. Lastly, a big part of the incomes that it leaves is invested in the preservation of the environment and the endangered species. However, there are some collateral effects as a result of the massive growth of international tourism. The wildlife animals are often victims of tourism. For instance, Since the elephants in Indonesia became a trend for tourists, they have been working exhaustively and they barely rest. In addition, some tourists simply do not care about the environment. A lot of studies have shown that cities with a higher number of visitors present a greater rate of contamination in their rivers, lakes and beaches. Last but not least, international tourism has completely displaced some communities as a result of the high demand. For instance, in Venice, Italy, many locals have been forced to move to other neighbour cities because there is no enough space on the island to cope with the massive flow of international tourists. Consequently, local communities are left behind without another choice but to move out. In conclusion, international tourism is evidently the biggest economy in some communities. Although it brings several benefits to individuals and the environment, it also creates a lot of harm to them. Perhaps, if in the future, the relevant authorities take care of this matter, international tourism would overcome all the disadvantages it carries.