Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that many students prove challenging to maintain their concentration span in an educational establishment. In this essay, I will clarify the reasons why this phenomenon is relatively common in many schools in the world and suggest some solutions to deal with this problem. There are two possible causes to explain why many students encounter obstacles in focusing on and paying attention to lessons in school. The first one is that they are distracted by their own electronic devices such as smartphones or smartwatches. To be more specific, some of the students do not turn off their devices’ notifications, leading to the reality that when they are studying mandatory subjects in their classes, the loud sound of their smartphones’ notifications may propel them into distraction. The second reason is that some pupils do not have a deep and good sleep, therefore, the next day, they are highly likely to feel exhausted. As an inevitable consequence, when they are in a state of exhaustion, their concentration span will be hardly maintained. Moving onto the next part, I will propose some ideas to tackle this students ’ problem. To begin with, an effective method, which can result in an immediate positive effect, is incentivizing students to turn off their electronic devices’ notifications and solely use them during break time. In addition, parents and teachers should advise pupils to adjust their circadian rhythms. To be more detailed, they ought to tell students that they have to sleep early and the ideal length of sleep should last from 7 to 8 hours. In conclusion, those are causes making pupils difficult in having good attention in school as well as solutions which may solve this students ’ challenge.