Nowadays people use social media to keep up with the news. Why do they do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

With the advent of the internet, social media has drastically changed our lives. These days, people get information at their fingertips, and many of us use web-based applications to keep abreast of local and global events. However, the real question is, is it worthing following the news on such apps. In this essay, I will discuss why this is trending among people and explain why I feel it is a negative development. They are two key factors that explain the increasing trend of social media platforms. The first one is easy to access global news. With the sore of digital media, society does not have to depend on the local newspapers. They can follow any global news channels they desire, provided them with the latest updates of the ongoing or upcoming events. In shots, for example, specially designed to give updates related to all worldwide news, containing more than 150 global news channels, and can access from smartphones. Another relevant reason is the latest updates in real-time. Internet-based apps provide news within an hour of actual incidents to become aware of news before printing traditional newspapers. Therefore, many prefer to use social media platforms to stay up to date. Although social media apps are convenient, there are few things to worrying about. Whereby the false information on the news feed, much content on these platforms are not verified. This sometimes gives wrong information about the subject, which is not beneficial for society to follow. About cyclones In Kolkatta, for instance, While scrolling the news feed, people got to know that they have to leave the city before cyclones arrive, later they got to know it is about other cities Kolkatta. If they continue to follow such kinds of news, they might end up believing in false content. Thus, it is harmful to people to continue relay on such updates. In conclusion, social media applications are gaining popularity to provide the latest and fast news updates. Whereas, I feel that it can spread false information, which is not reliable and dangerous for people to follow.