The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

These days, there is a common belief that the most important issue that threatens humans is the rise of the human population. I disagree with this claim and I think the greatest threat to humanity in the 21st century is the lack of clean water. The primary cause of population growth is an imbalance between births and deaths. Thanks to advancement in medicine and technology, infant mortality has decreased significantly. In addition, lifespans are increasing around the world means that those of us who are alive today will likely live much longer than our ancestors. As a result, we are faced with resource depletion and environmental degradation. Lack of water directly affects humanity's existence by reducing harvests and destroying critical infrastructure which leads to displacing communities. For example, in Afghanistan, water scarcity and reduced harvests have pushed people into poverty and malnutrition. To sum up, I disagree with this claim that the biggest problem is overpopulation. I think what should be addressed first and foremost is water scarcity.