Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

There is currently a contentious argument over whether leading a life in a nation where people are forced to speak a language different from their mother tongue can be a reason for not only serious social issues but also for practical ones. I totally agree with this opinion because forcing people to speak a foreign language can lead to both inconvenience in their everyday life and conflicts among those with different cultural backgrounds. The main reason why I believe that compelling people not to speak their native languages can lead to problems in their daily life is that their life can be more inconvenient. In fact, not everyone is fluent in a foreign language. As a result, there can be great barriers to their communication. For instance, one famous company in Japan has made English its common language among its employees. They cannot easily convey all what they really mean, which has resulted in the situation where completing one task takes them longer than before. The second reason why making speaking a foreign language mandatory can be a cause of a big headache in a society is that it can destroy harmony among those who are brought up in different cultures. For example, Okinawa, a small Japanese island, was integrated to Japan in 1800s and residents there were obliged to speak Japanese, not their local language. This enhanced the hatred among the citizens there against the Japanese government and led them to fight for their freedom. In conclusion, I firmly believe that individuals should not be forced to speak a foreign language. This is because this can do more harm than good to their lives and society as a whole. Given this situation, they should be given the freedom to choose what language to use in their lives.