In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Hunger has long been an urgent global issue that troubles any well-meaning politician. Regardless of advances in agribusiness, starvation persists. Analysis of the emphasis on commercial crops will explain the major reason for this continual food shortage. To effectively tackle this issue, national governments should subsidize farmers who supply food locally. The main reason many people suffer malnourishment is the fact that most agricultural products are exported. Selling horticultural goods is becoming increasingly profitable, which motivates farmers to invest in cash crops, especially those in less wealthy areas that are most vulnerable to malnutrition. As a result, provincial food supplies are neglected, ironically leading to famine in active food exporters of the globe such as India. India is among the leading international producer of rice; nonetheless, a large portion of its population does not have enough to eat. Therefore, due to the excessive focus on commercial agriculture, malnourishment lingers in many regions. Accordingly, to ease the problem of widespread starvation, federal governments should financially support local food providers. Subsidies reduce the costs of production; as a result, all things being equal, profits will rise. If the reason many farm owners prefer to grow cash crops is their high profits, they might want to change their mind once selling food in-town becomes more fruitful with governmental assistance. This model has been successful in Vietnam where the authority offers funding to ensure that the national food stock is adequate before trying its luck in the international agricultural market. Consequently, to improve global food stock, federal governments need to sponsor the production of crops for their own citizens. In conclusion, the primary reason many people still go hungry although agricultural technology has moved forward is the immoderate attention paid to growing exports instead of crops for local consumption. Therefore, to effectively tackle this issue, federal authorities should offer funding to farmers who devote their lands to the latter. Over time, if this solution is administered, worldwide starvation should be reduced in a few decades.