Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Recently, the debate on whether physical or mental strength is more important for success in the sport has been heated. As far as I am concerned, the importance of strength depends on the type of sport. In this essay, I will outline both sides and elaborate on my view. To begin with, it is impossible for athletes to succeed without a strong body. For example, for events like short-distance running and swimming, athletes are required to accomplish the competition in a very short period. If players do not have good body qualities, competing in time can be really challenging for them since they need to boost their speed in a very short run. Moreover, Competing with speed does not require players to compete a lot mentally. Therefore, physical strength is very crucial for sports that do not last for a long period of time. In contrast, competing mentally is also inevitable when it comes to competitions that take a long time to accomplish. To illustrate this, marathon players need to run for hours, they need to endure the weather and the fatigue caused by long time running. If their mental strength is weak, they might give up easily during the event. In this way, competitors need to have a strong mind to encourage themselves during the long journey as well. To conclude, since different types of events require various quality, separated strength can contribute to a diverse result. Generally, physical power is a more important factor in short time competitions while mental durability plays a greater role in long period contests.