“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

The proverb “prevention is better than cure” suggests that it is more useful to prevent diseases than try to treat them after they already occur. This statement provokes very interesting but debatable choice between investing money in either preventative measures against different illnesses or the methods of treating various diseases. I totally agree that focusing more on the prevention of illnesses is a more sustainable and cost-effective approach for both government and citizens. The first argument to support preventive healthcare is its financial efficiency. Treating such illnesses as cancer or AIDS can require a lot of expenses, including the presence of special equipment and professional medical staff that is also needed to be paid. Managing cancer requires expensive surgeries, chemotherapy and well-equipped hospital wards. Early detection of these terminal illnesses can help mitigate such costs. Another argument for supporting preventive techniques is that they improve overall public health by minimizing disease incidence. Public awareness will be able to save a huge number of people from death. For example, beforehand vaccination will prevent the occurrence of some serious diseases and help citizens not to get infected. Besides, public awareness campaigns promote healthy lifestyle, balanced diets and cessation of smoking which can significantly decrease the chances of getting obesity, indigestion or lung cancer. Thus, investing in sanitation and health education can help create healthier societies, diminishing the need for expensive medical interventions. In conclusion, while medical treatments are essential, preventive healthcare provides more effective and economical solutions. While focusing on prevention, societies can improve the quality of life, reduce medical expenses and decrease the occurrence of preventable illnesses. The government should adhere to a thoughtful and forward-thinking approach investing money in measures and techniques which help prevent various diseases before they arise.