Doctors recommend that older people should exercise regularly. However, some people do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them to exercise?

To maintain good physical and mental well-being, the elderly are recommended by health professionals to exercise regularly. Nevertheless, some people still lack exercise. This essay will discuss the primary reasons for this unfortunate phenomenon and suggest a potential solution. One reason old people shy away from exercise is the discomfort resulting from corporeal exertion. As the body ages, various bones, joints, and muscles deteriorate, leading to soreness and fatigue during muscle contractions. Another cause for the hesitation to work out of the seniors is low confidence. In public venues such as parks or the gym, they probably will compare themselves with youngsters who are more agile and flexible and feel discouraged consequently. This observation is not mere speculation, as I have heard many older persons express their "helplessness" when confronted with the physical capabilities of the young. In summary, many seniors are in two minds about exercising because of the physical pain and low confidence it causes. To invigorate the "sportsmanship" of the elderly, more local communities for old people should be erected. When surrounded by similar persons, seniors will be inspired to persevere in spite of bodily aches as they see others also trying hard. Moreover, they will not be mentally intimidated because their fellows are of akin physicality. For example, my grandmother who used to refuse to take a short walk down the block is currently attending club meetings three times a week; at these meetings, she socializes and plays badminton with friends from the same age group. That is to say, starting local communities for elder adults is an effective way to get them moving. In conclusion, the causes for the inactivity of the old-age population are bodily discomfort and a lack of self-esteem. Accordingly, setting up sporting societies for the elderly is an efficient way to address this problem. If the solution is administered, it is believed in the near future, more old people will exercise regularly.