Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In the contemporary era, every country allocates some funds to arts and cultural activities along with more pressing social issues- such as education, health, and so on. Consequently, some individuals contemplate that investing in artistic activities is a wastage of money and governments should focus on other predominant sectors. Being a rational mind, I, too, assent to this notion, for I am of the view that spending money on more imperative basic sectors help a country become economically strong and competitive. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that stands out deals with the significance of putting money on other sectors rather than on the cultural activities as a way of giving more priority to economic development. To be more precise, investing money in high-quality education, health transportation, to name but a few facilitates a country boosting the economy because of having state-of-the-art technologies as well as highly skilled professionals. To cite an example, in 2001, Malaysia’s government reduced the budget of the entertainment industry and shifted that money to the education sector in order to produce skilled workers for the country, and now the country ’s 95% people are highly professionals. Hence, so as to develop a country, it is paramount not to waste money on the arts. Another critical rationale in reference to why governments ought to give more preference to other areas apart from the arts is necessarily synonymous with building an independent and stable nation. To put it simply, artistic tasks only can provide entertainment and joys but never can they help a nation compete in the dog-eat-dog world. Therefore, if governments could not invest funds in practical fields, it would not possible for them to survive in the cutthroat world. For instance, many African countries give more importance to their arts and culture rather than advanced education, technology and suchlike, causing them dependent on developed nations. In essence, a government of any nation should not waste money on the arts and should give priority to other indispensable areas.