Government should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. Agree or disagree?

Some believe that public investment should prioritise academic life over extra curricular activities. As a result, government would spend more money on the first. However, I completely disagree this statement. In my opinion, both are equally important, either because they contribute with the improvement of mental and physical health or with the development of social habilities. Firstly, dedicating time to recreation activities is relevant for health. Regarding mental health, the frequent practice of exercises reduces cortisol levels in the organism, thus the individual will have a less stressful life. Moreover, in terms of body, it will help to build strength, and strongness, which are core factors to the health in the long term. In order to provide one example, considering life expectancy, people do not only want to live more, they want to live better as well. So, learning since the beginning to maintain those habits will provide a more prolonged existence. Secondly, putting stress on leisure time assists in the development of social habilities. Thereby, some needed skills will be fostered, such as sense of collectivity, discipline, leadership, and team spirit. Furthermore, it is known the importance of all these traits when it comes to live in community. Later in the future, these skills will be considered indispensable whether in a company where the person will work or in his community life, for instance. If existing in society is an estimated characteristic to the success of human species, economic investments should be given to it, as a result. To summarise, governments must balance their investments between education and recreation. One because it is a strategy to fight against disorders and diseases. Second due to social reasons since it will improve some social behaviours indispensables to build up a sense of belonging. Those arguments reveal why public investments should prioritise both, education and extra academic activities.