Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

A contentious view regards to whether taking a sabbatical year for travel or to work present the enticing opportunity to a students or it is wasting their time. The analysis contained within the following paragraphs support the first notion on a ground of eliciting required skills for professional life and refreshing of mind and soul to take up new challenges in university. A year gap before university present abundant opportunity for students. First students can enroll into specialised courses of interest which not only prepare them for university, but also helps in professional life. Secondly, adolescents can learn valuable traits of patience, organisation and efficiency by working the part time or full time that ultimately leads to improved productivity in any aspect of life. Lastly, visiting different parts of the world and witnessing their culture and food habits is one of the many thing that thrive teenager’s soul. Apart from enjoying sense of achievement by travelling to the extreme places such as the Sahara desert, it induce traits such as independence and ownership of action. Therefore, using one year as a refreshment before university, prepares the students for coming challenges in life. On contrary, some propose that pupils may indulge in bad habit of alcohol or smoking by joining violent gangs and commit the crime in a gap of a year before university. Result of this is compromising the professional and personal life. Moreover some student may choose not to study due to the above mentioned bad habits. However by proper education of right and wrong, these issue can be resolved. The above-referenced arguments favour the proponents of taking a year break for students before university. However contradictory viewpoint of opponents regarding indulgence of students into bad habits can be managed by teaching them what is good or bad.