It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How public funds for healthcare should be used has always been a debate. Some people think that encouraging a healthy lifestyle ought to be prioritized over treatment of those who are already sick. I completely agree with this opinion. In this essay, the relatively low costs and positive ripple effects of promoting healthier ways of life will be discussed, thus proving my point. Comparing to treating patients, motivating citizens to adopt a positive lifestyle is more cost-effective. A promotion project which might prevent numerous people from getting sick in the first place is probably less expensive than caring for a severely sick person who requires sophisticated treatments such as radiotherapy or surgery. In the United States, cancer patients pay approximately $4 billions for treatment, while the budget for a pro-good-heath campaign is merely around a few hundred thousand dollars. Therefore, at least when the finance is concerned, it is wiser to choose the promotion of a healthy lifestyle over patient care. Moreover, urging people to live more healthily can improve many other aspects besides physical health. Adopting a pro-wellbeing way of life implies that one will strive to exercise regularly and find a balance between work and relaxation. These changes will not only benefit the body but also the productivity at work and social relationships. For example, after my cousin, who never worked out, started going to the gym twice a week and go to bed earlier, she observes that not only does she feel better but her grades and friendships at school also improve. Hence, to motivate people to live more healthily is to enhance their life in multiple manners. In conclusion, it is evident that promoting a healthy lifestyle is more preferable to treating people who are already ill. Due to the former's financial advantages and its desirable effects in areas other than bodily well-being such as productivity and interpersonal relationships, I highly recommend that more funding should go to encouraging a healthier way of life instead of caring for patients.