When new towns are planned, it is more important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent you agree or disagree?

The infrastructures in cities and towns play an indispensable role in the public’s daily life. Therefore, some people argue that the government should allocate money to building more public gardens or sports amenities when planning new towns. From my perspective, I strongly agree with their opinion due to the following reasons. What must be prioritized is that by providing more green space, such as the public playground, the government will put citizens as beneficiaries. It is undeniable that city inhabitants who are overwhelmed by their work and studies, are experiencing a sedentary lifestyle. Thus, it is exposing themselves to open-air that enables residents to relax and enjoy their leisure time when they are facing numerous plants and flowers, which provides fresh air and amazing visions. By contrast, people may suffer from anxiety and rage if they only have crowded and noisy shopping malls to spend their spare time in. Besides, online shopping is way more convenient nowadays due to the accessible internet, but the benefits of public parks cannot be achieved online. Consequently, public parks are more vital than shopping centres in towns. What should be equally mentioned is that by having more exercising equipment, people are more likely to receive a healthier life. To explain it further, more and more residents aware of the importance of a robust body and are willing to do more exercises to improve their health condition. However, the high price of private gym room keeps their exercise plan at bay. Only by having access to cheap or free sports facilities provided by the local government can dwellers exert their sports plans, which ensure equal opportunities for dwellers to own better physical health. Hence, instead of building more shopping centres, the local council should take public sports facilities into consideration. In conclusion, while shopping malls may have some advantages, I firmly suggest that more public parks and sports facilities should be built. Never can we ignore that these infrastructures lead to a high-quality life for citizens both mentally and physically.