In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more widely available. Do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

Fast food has become widely available in many countries and the consumption of it has increased significantly in recent years. India's fast- food industry is expanding at the rate of 40% every year and ranks 10th in fast- food per capita spending. It is agreed that the disadvantages of consuming fast food outweigh the advantages. Studies have shown junk food can cause cancer. For instance, a study conducted by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) stated that additives and preservatives present in the food can cause cancer to individuals as well as high levels of fat causing a greater risk of acquiring cholesterol and other diseases. Junk food has become cheaper, leading to a larger demographic consuming it causing various different health problems from obesity to heart problems. The average fitness score of adolescents has been on the decline in recent years due to junk meals. In fact, a survey conducted by Oxford University in 2019 has concluded that consuming a cheaper convenience cuisine has been the main cause of obesity in children from age groups 8 to 15. Another drawback is that cheaper junk meals have also led many employees in these dining establishments to get poorly paid and a plausible reason as to why fast- food chains have reported greater earnings over the past few years. A study conducted by the University of Nottingham in the United Kingdom in the year 2018 shows that over 40% of the staff in these meal chains are underpaid and are working multiple jobs to make ends meet. Conversely, fast food has advantages also. It is a fact that meals can be affordable to wider income groups, which means most of the population would not go hungry. The average person spends around 2000 dollars on meals and this cost can easily be reduced if one switches to a fast- food diet. The trump card as to why people prefer to eat junk meals is because they are delicious to most people because they are made with strong artificial flavours. Although, this may be subjective and can depend on a person’s taste. In short, Fast food has been cheap and accessible to many people around the world due to cheaper prices and branch expansion. Eating in a convenience restaurant certainly has its advantages however, it cannot be recommended in the long run as individuals must also take extra precaution for their well-being due to the fact that it has a higher fat content