Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

It is widely noted that humans nowadays are producing a great amount of garbage - both domestic and industrial. There are many causes for the increase in rubbish these days. This essay explains the sources and a few possible remedial actions by the government to overcome this acute problem. To begin with, the rapid growth of garbage is directly linked to the overwhelming population. To elaborate, as the number of people grows the number of products they consume also rises. This, in turn, inflates waste production. Moreover, to meet the growing demands, new industries have to be set up which aggravate the situation further. To add more to that, modern life is practising throw-away culture. As the name suggested, people are less interested in using repaired commodities. Instead, they dispose of an old item and buy new merchandise. There are numerous steps that a ministry can undertake to alleviate this condition. Firstly, as plastic makes up almost 70 per cent of the hoard of garbage, many authorities have put a ban on polythene usage. For example, in countries like India, most States have discarded the usage of plastic bags to promote an eco-friendly environment. Secondly, authorities implementing stricter policies to monitor all goods produced by industries and have a minimum warranty of five years, which will aid in reducing the excessive usage of newer products. Furthermore, volunteers can take up initiatives to encourage citizens to keep their surroundings clean. To recapitulate, the rise in population is the primary factor for an increase in litter. Another prominent attribute is the fostering of the throw-away culture. The government can take many measures to fight this problem. A few of them are banning eco-unfriendly products, applying stringent supervising on factories and encouraging residents to keep the community clean.