It is often said “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

It has become increasingly common among people to visit another country and experience foreign cultures. In my opinion, it is crucial that people follow certain cultural rules in the country they visit, and learning the language is necessary to understand the culture in which it is used. While some argue that individuals do not necessarily have to adopt the culture if they are not a native member, I believe that accepting the culture is the responsibility of the visitors. It is because it prevents a person from inadvertently misbehaving in a particular social situation. For instance, if a tourist does not follow a certain protocol in a local shrine that is considered sacred in Japan, they would appear impolite to the local people. As a result, foreign tourists could end up being not allowed in the facility. With regard to learning the language, I think that it is impossible to dissociate the language from the culture, making it essential to learn the language. The use of language reflects the ways of thinking and living of the local people. One example of this is the polite form used by Japanese people when they speak to the elders, which is a representation of the importance of respect for seniority in Japan. Consequently, by learning the language, a greater understanding of the culture would be promoted. In conclusion, it is advisable that visitors to a country adopt the behaviour of the locals to avoid offending others, and ensure that they have a basic understanding of the language of the culture they visit. Showing respect towards other cultures is important to create a peaceful global community.