Many people think that the best way to learn a culture is to learn the language of it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the optimal way to access cultural literacy is by mastering the language. I believe that it can be true to some extent, whereas linguistic skills can be vital to reach the native level. On the one hand, a fraction of foreign cultures can be learnt due to the advantages brought by translation and modern technology. Firstly, some parts of the culture, like history and philosophy, can be expressed by language, which can be translated into others. In this way, people from every corner of the world can probe into the basics of different cultures through various ways, such as encyclopaedias, magazines and other media. Secondly, facilitated by the convenient stream service, the more rapid communication and higher-quality video recording devices, educational contents like documentaries of cultures can be reached by the mass, which paves the way for learning cultures. On the other hand, when people are not satisfied by the basic understanding of culture and willing to dive further, learning the language that carries the culture will be inevitable. For one thing, some cultural heritages like dances and religious rituals are intangible, which requires a person to reach a sophistic skill to understand. For another, books, videos and other means for information conveyance cannot replace the first-hand experience that can only be cultivated by immersing, which signifies the mastery of languages is irreplaceable. In conclusion, I partly agree with the idea that people can learn a certain amount of new culture without learning the language because of translatability and educational contents. However, if a person wants to gain full knowledge of the culture, mastering the language is essential.