In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Shopping used to be regarded as a chore that should be done to acquire necessary things. However, with the development of consumer society, a lot of people started regarding it as fun and a relaxing activity, more a hobby than a routine task. To my mind, this trend is neither healthy nor useful as it has negative consequences both for buyers and for the world around them. First of all shopping requires our free time and money. Treating shopping as a leisure is a part of consumer culture which encourages overspending. The easiest way to get things that you want as soon as possible is by using credit cards. The idea of buying now and paying later is incredibly tempting. But as the result people may end up in debt. Also, money spent on unnecessary things could have been spent on something more useful but not material like sports club membership. What is more with shopping as a trend we forget that it is possible to have fun for free, playing board games or gardening etc. Thus, we trade quality pastime for consumerism. Another reason for my negative attitude to shopping as a hobby is that it contributes to environmental pollution. Nowadays, most purchases are made not out of necessity but rather out of boredom. As a result, people often buy things they do not need. In the end, most of these possessions will be sent to a landfill adding up to enormous piles of waste. Besides the sheer place those objects take up some of them may be dangerous, for example, some mobile phone parts contain hazardous metals such as lead. Moreover, many of the things we buy come with packaging which is made of plastic or similar poorly degradable materials. Most of the discarded plastic ends up in soil or some water body. To conclude, spending free time shopping is not a positive trend. It pollutes the environment with tons of things and packaging. In addition, it has a negative effect on our way of life particularly on how we manage our finances and time.