People think that countries should produce food that their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree?

People assume that nations should less import food from other nations and they should more rely on producing their domestic food as much as they can. Although importing food from other countries makes a wider variety of food for people of a country, reducing this importing has some benefits for that country.   Importing food products from other countries of the world leads to the difference in food. In some countries, because of their climate or geographical situations, it would be impossible to grow up some types of agricultural crops like vegetables or special fruits. If they do not import food products from other countries, the people of those countries have a limited variation on their food basket, whereas, importing food offers more choices to their people. For instance, in the northern countries, it would not be possible to cultivate many types of fruits or vegetables which they normally grow up in hot or moderate weather. Thus, by importing them the people of that countries can access them and consume them. On the other hand, importing fewer food products brings some profits for the internal economy of a country. Firstly, it can make more job opportunities for people of that country. It means that more people can work in farmlands and gardens. Also, more individuals can get hired in other related industries like transporting, packing, or distributing food and agricultural products. Therefore, the number of jobless people will be decreased in the country. Secondly, the food which is produced locally supports the economy of the country. If the money which is spent with local farmers and growers stays in the country, It can be reinvested with business and services inside the country, so it can enhance the internal economy of the country. In conclusion, imported food gives people more opportunities to choose and enables them to consume different kinds of food. However, importing less food from other nations and focusing more on producing domestic food products could be beneficial for the internal economy of countries.