In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The last 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the longevity of humans in various parts of the world. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether this is a positive or negative trend. While there are valid arguments to the contrary, in this essay I would contend that the advantages of the ageing population are incomparable with its drawbacks. Two of the primary reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that providing the opportunity to utilize these generations’ experiences in various aspects of managing a country could be accounted as an invaluable asset. According to the statistics, a salient example of this could be Japan country, which, rehires retired individuals in more prominent management positions in order to gain the most efficient benefits. So rather than viewing them as outdated people, providing the opportunity to implement their worthwhile ideas would contribute to benefit the whole country. Yet perhaps the strongest argument in favour of this opinion is the fact that despite the expenses spent for their treatment or their insurance, they could play a supportive role for their children and grandchildren. As the expenditure of life has soared in recent years and both parents have to work in order to afford the costs of life, grandparents could take the responsibility of caring for their children. So, implementing more effectively at work is more likely as worries related to the care of children are alleviated by the support of elders. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the ageing population is accounted as the grace of god. Thus, rather than neglecting them as hassles to governments, they have significant potential for the advancement of societies.