Some people think that students should be required to do unpaid community service as a part of their school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indisputable that students ' involvement with society is beneficial. As a result, some believe that requiring them to do some community services as part of their school curriculum is critical, others disagree. In my view, volunteering can build healthier social bonds and positively reflect on young people. This essay will discuss both views before presenting my position. One key reason for this is that civic engagement for youth can expand their perspectives in life by exposing them to other areas of life. For example, carrying out the daily tasks of the elderly can make them understand new aspects of life, like appreciating their wellness and their young energy to accomplish high achievements. In addition, if they interact with old individuals, it will build a healthy relationship with them, resulting in transferring their experience to younger generations. This can be seen by the amount of knowledge that students gain after spending their community hours assisting old people. Another point to consider, public services can distract students from studying which can lower their GPA. For instance, occupying their free time with such duties may affect their academic level because that will minimize their study time. Furthermore, working for the community can tighten their freedom in doing tasks that they may not prefer such as cleaning parks or other public facilities. In conclusion, despite people having different viewpoints, I tend to believe that civic engagement is essential for students because that will impact them with a host of beneficial skills such as communication skills and problem-solving skills, which will improve their character, hone their skills, and prepare them for future.