Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact both on individuals and society. Extent do you agree?

The advent of the digital age has brought us different ways of communicating with each other. One such way is through social networking sites. Although, the social implications of these sites are debatable, however, through careful analysis a certain opinion can be derived. This essay agrees with the assertion that the negative side effects far outweigh the positive ones. We have a generation of keyboard warriors. That is to say, people like to sit behind their computers and write all kinds of stuff without actually doing anything about it in real life. The consequences of that result in no substantial work being done. Doing so gives off a feeling of achievement without any real accomplishment. For example, a social media page named “HSI”, which is a Human rights page on Facebook wrote an article on the terrible conditions of people living in Yemen and asked for donations. The article was flooded with sad reactions and long comments with very little actual donations which would have helped the locals living there. Therefore, we need to stop writing comments online and start acting in a manner that will save people’s lives. On the other hand, our society is becoming more connected to their friends online rather than having meaningful relationships in real life. This results in mistrust and communication gaps. Although its availability allows us to communicate effectively, it creates social problems as children do not learn to socialize with their surroundings. For example, In the US, research showed, 60% of the children population show signs of social anxiety due to social media. Hence, a child must develop social skills to function properly in society. Consequently, this does not mean to completely ban the usage of social media but to restrict it to the extent that it does not overtake our lives. To summarise, lesser online time means more time in nature which results in a healthier and more productive life.