some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. what are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this

The vehicle consumption of the world has increased over the past few years and as a result an increased trend could be indicated in number of road accidents. Some suggests that as a strategy, the driving test needs to be repeated in every five years. The essay will further foucses on illustrating the pors and cons of the notion. In Sri Lanka driving license generally needs to be renewed each and every 10 years time. Moreover the renewal process only demands for medical related examinations such as eye sight and physical fitness for driving. In my opinion, the written examination also should be included as a part of the test, becuase it will naturally force the drivers to be more cautious about the road signs. Simultaneously, if any person is medically unfit to drive, testing could help to early identify the problems. In relation to the heavy vehicles, the testing should be even extended to the physical driving test considering the responsibility whcih the heavy vehicle drivers have. The only concern with regards to bringing down the renewal period of a driver's license could be the inconvinience a person should gothrough during the process. A one whole day needs to be sacrifised to get done a job in this magnitude from a government office. However, this concern also could be corrected by implementing a convienient process. In conclusion, license renewal process bring down to five years would be a good strategy which could positively contirbuted contribute to the reduction of accidents. Hence the essay suggests that the advantages of the notion is capable of outweigh the disadvantages.