Some people think that mobile phone should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and on public transport. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recent years have seen a dramatic increase in the use of many digital devices, especially the mobile phone. It is said that mobile phone should not be allowed in public places. In my opinion, people should be able to get access to their mobile phone no matter where they are for the following reasons. The mobile phone offers a variety of tools that benefits the users even if they are in public places. Some apps on mobile phone helps users navigate the shopping mall. The shopping mall usually has a large area that is difficult for people to find their way to their shops or washroom. People without their mobile phone or technologies may struggle to find their shops or washrooms whereas people use a mobile phone can navigate the mall easily with the apps on mobile phone. In addition, some public libraries feature e-books that can only get accessed by digital devices such as a computers or a mobile phone. Computers are usually limited depending on the capacity of the library while mobile phones can be available because everyone gets their own device. Thus, people are encouraged to bring their mobile phone to the libraries to get access to these e-books. The advantages of mobile phone also outweigh the disadvantages when it comes to public transport. It is argued that some people play music out loud on their phone while commuting that affects the others. However, this phenomenon is not common anymore because more and more transportation companies who mandate silence mode policy on digital devices. Most people use their mobile as a tool to kill the time when they are travelling. To illustrate this phenomenon, recent research from “The New York Times” shows that 80 percent of commuters choose to play their favorite music or audio books on their phone when travelling to work or school to relax and educate themselves. In conclusion, with the benefits that come with mobile phones, I believe this device should be allowed for use in public places.