Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

Investing in roads and motorways instead of public transport systems is a common idea for many citizens. I completely disagree with this opinion due to the advantages of spending budget on public transportation and the reasons are outlined below. Firstly, public transport helps reduce pollution. Subways and buses are the typical representatives of this transporting form. By switching from personal vehicles to underground or buses, the number of automobiless automobile operating on roads at a time reduces significantly. This leads to a decrease in the amount of emission into the atmosphere and then improve air quality. For example, many large European cities such as Paris or London have extremely complete public transport systems, which help them to limit the number of personal vehicles on the traffic network, helping the authorities to control the pollution level. Another reason to support the development of public transportation is originated from the financial benefits. Motivating citizens to switch from individual automobiles to shared ones can help reduce society's fuel costs. For example, a bus can replace many vans in a defined route due to its large capacity for passengers. Therefore, instead of consuming a large amount of gasoline for several cars of passengers who are on the same way to their workplaces, the fuels are using economically by the bus system. Spending less money on gas means that the government possesses a better financial capacity to make other essential investments, which improve social living standards. In conclusion, while many people stick to the interest in developing roads and motorways, I strongly believe that governments should spend budget on public transports, which can bring various benefits in both environmental and financial aspects.