In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing, or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For centuries, animals have been an integral part of the life of humans, providing everything needed for our survival ranging from food and medicine to clothing. For instance, around 70% of the population is said to consume some or the other form of meat. I disagree that animals will no longer be necessary for our consumption in the modern world. This is because a majority of the accessories and clothing used by people are animal-based. In addition, most of the remedies widely used today contain some sort of animal hormone which has been proved to be highly beneficial to humans. Firstly, it is known that most of the leather used in jackets, coats, belts as well as in handbags and purses comes from cattle such as sheep and cows and from other species as well like horses and crocodiles. A survey conducted by Oxford University in 2019, has claimed that more than 80% of the leather sold to the fashion industry is animal skin. Furthermore, it is said that animal skin is in high demand as compared to synthetic-based leather and is widely used in many luxury brands like Louis Vuitton and Gucci. Secondly, a wide variety of drugs recommended by doctors and pharmacists these days are animal-based mostly because they tend to have more benefits compared to plant-based medicines. Recently, A study conducted by John Hopkins University has stated that animal-based medicines are more effective in their job than plant-based ones and these prescriptions have shown lesser side effects compared to their plant-based counterpart. Not only, have poachers been hunting elephants for their tusks but also due to the fact that tusks have important minerals for them which can be used as a remedy for various diseases. In a nutshell, it can be concluded that animal-based products are still relevant even today despite the higher cost and more regulations around them. I believe that goods made from animals will not be replaced any time soon and will continue to be relevant for a long time.