When people commit serious crime in most countries, they are sent to prison. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

Nowadays a great deal of attention has been paid to crime and criminals. In general, people are sent to prison when they contribute a major crime. In this essay, I am going to discuss the pros and cons of sending criminals to prison and examine the reasons why I believe merits outweigh drawbacks. To begin with, there are two positive aspects. Firstly, this help to maintain society safe. In fact, some criminals are unable to rehabilitate themselves, and they tend to commit serious crimes again. These people are called "serial killer", and isolating them from citizens is vital for public safety. Secondly, prison plays a vital role in terms of rehabilitation,especially for juvenile delinquents. They often have severe family problems, and commit crime because such issues. Thus, putting them in prison may give them an opportunity to reform their lives. On the other hand, there are also two disadvantages. The first drawback is a cost problem. Despite prison does not make profits, it costs a lot. Countries or local governments need to pay for foods for prisoners, daily supplies, labour costs and expenses for maintaining facilities. In addition to this, since there are only criminals, some severe crimes happen in prison. For instance, physical assaults in prison are a huge issue in Japan. To conclude, there are pros and cons regarding this topic, and both arguments have merits. However, I believe the advantage outweigh the disadvantage. It is because this can keep communities safe, and support prisoner's rehabilitation.