Some people say that main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, environmental problems are increasing day by day. Some people think the main problem is the loss of different kinds of flora and fauna whilst others opine that there are numerous environmental problems which are crucial. This essay will discuss both views along with my own opinion. On one hand, the primary environmental problem is the loss of biodiversity in the present time as the loss of some species of plants and animals disrupts the chain of the eco-system leading to many problems. For instance, some species which are born to maintain the soil or purify the water if become extinct will lead to unbalance in the ecosystem. Moreover, the extinction of some species of flora and fauna will lead to a decrease in the population of biodiversity which means species doing specific tasks will have to overtake some other tasks also which threatens the structure and proper functioning of the ecosystem. Thus, the loss of biodiversity is a crucial environmental problem. On the other hand, someday there are other severe environmental problems also which need to be taken care of. For instance, global warming caused by various factors like the combustion of fossil fuels by automobiles or dangerous gas emitted from industries which eventually leads to the depletion of the ozone layer causing problems like skin cancer etcetera. Furthermore, usage of plastic is also a cause which in turn leads to a problem like polluting underground soil as plastic is non-degradable material. Therefore, others problems are also important to be considered. To conclude, in my opinion problems like global warming, plastic pollution or loss of biodiversity are combined responsible for the present state of the environment. Therefore, government and laymen should take responsibility to overcome this problem and make this world a better place.