The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of cell phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technological advancement has blessed us with many gadgets and mobiles are one of them and mostly used out of all. Multiple uses of cell phones have made them more popular and their usage has drastically increased among people. This change has both positives and negatives and this essay will elaborate on the same in detail. On one hand, cell phones have many benefits. To start with, firstly, in this busy and fast-paced life, it keeps us connected with our social groups and family members as we can call or text them as and when required as well as in situation of any emergency. This way people feel connected with each other which is crucial for mental health as well. Secondly, mobiles are convenient to carry and they are a complete package of services as their multiuse can allow people to avoid carrying different gadgets with them. For example, if someone is going on a vacation then he does not need to carry a huge camera with them as phones have an inbuilt good quality of the camera. On the other hand, we cannot avoid its disadvantages as well. People are so busy on their mobile phones that they hardly spend family time together. Besides calling, there are various applications for games, social media, social networking that keep us apart from the world. Moreover, it has become an addiction for many kids as they keep themselves busy in games and are getting apart from studies and other valuable learnings for their lives. For instance, instead of spending time playing outdoor games kids nowadays prefer to play games on mobiles which is harmful to their health as well. To conclude, as per my experience, mobiles are both a blessing and a curse. Therefore, it is up to us how we use it and how much we use it. We are the ones to decide whether we want to make the best use of it or we want to destroy our relationships and health with it.