Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the fast-changing world that we currently live in, the emergence of sophisticated technology has also changed the way we communicate with other people. Some would argue that with this development, it is not necessary to write letters. I agree with this statement. The advancement of science improved our channel of communication as compared to the past. In the earliest time, overseas workers, for instance, communicate with their family through letters and it would take months for the receiver to receive the message while today, individuals could freely communicate with their loved ones anywhere and anytime they want with the help of computers, mobile phones and the Internet. Video calls have become the aid of loneliness among those individuals who are working away from their families. As a result, workers abroad or even locally do not easily feel homesickness as well as loneliness especially during this time of the pandemic. Furthermore, aside from social media which offers fast transaction of messages as compared to writing letters, electronic mail is also an advancement. People can send imperial documents thru email in just a fraction of a second. To exemplify, during the old times, job seekers still need to go to an agency or an office to give their documents but now, job applicants who are processing their application can just send all their credentials and qualifying documents through email which is easier and accessible. Hence, there is no need to spend tons of money on printing and transportation just to deliver their papers. In conclusion, although writing letters is classic, I do not think that it is still essential in the modern world that we live in. The birth of modern communication through social media and electronic mail is much more beneficial today.