You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well. What problems will your country face in the next ten years? How can these problems be overcome? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is quite evident that many nations have already started struggling to become developed, which does not appear to end any sooner owing to the climatic changes occurring globally along with an ever-increasing population with limited resources and infrastructure such as, healthcare, food supply, education and job creation. India, being one of the most populous countries in the world, will face difficulties in meeting the energy demands and rising health issues in its growing democracy. To begin with, India’s energy demand per capita is significantly lower than many developed countries but is rapidly rising because of continuous development in the living standards of the people. According to multiple statistics, its population will surpass that of China’s by 2050 and will eventually be one of the largest energy consumers in the world. At present, the majority of the energy demands in the form of electricity is produced with conventional sources through coal operated thermal power plants with very little supply from other sources such as hydro or solar power. However, because of the limited supply of these fossils and other environmental problems that occur because of the usage of these resources, it is not considered sustainable in the long run. To address this problem, it is crucial for India to invest in modern ways of energy generation methods such as nuclear power plants, by increasing its contribution to a major share in handling the demand of its growing economy. Furthermore, because of major reliance on conventional sources of power generation, a huge populace, especially, the people settled in urban areas have started facing health-related issues. This is due to the dangerous pollutants that are released into the atmospheric air that gets respired into the lungs of all living organisms, leading to chronic illnesses because of lungs dysfunctionality. The solution to this problem also lies in large investments that need to be channelled by the government for sustainable means of power generation, along with strict policy implementation for switching from traditional means of transportation, which is evidently the second largest contributor to air pollution. To summarise, India currently faces challenges related to sustaining its ever-growing energy demands, which is evidently also causing problem-related to health, especially, among the urban population. Both of these problems need immediate attention from the government, for increased expenditure in sustainable and greener power generation methods, along with the transition into a new transportation system.