Some people think that parents should give their children complete freedom. Others feel that parents should limit their children’s freedom. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been a comparison on how parents let their offspring practice autonomy. It is often argued, that parents should allow their growing adolescents to have more liberty, whilst others disagree and still consider that restricting their actions will be more appropriate. Youths given more autonomy will become more independent and acquire various know-hows and learn from it eventually. For example, if you let a teenager decide on what clothes to wear or where he wants to spend the weekend, he will feel worth and empowered. If a parent confines a teenager at home, he may feel jaded and compare himself to his peers who are able to exercise more freedom. This limitation can hinder his learning and exploring of first- hand knowledge on his own. While too much of liberty is typically undesirable, some teenagers may have the tendency to abuse it and lead to negative engagements like, smoking, drinking of alcohol and drug misuse. In my opinion, there should be a balance of liberty offered by parents to their youths. A parent will recognize if their teenagers are mature enough to decide on their own. They will be able to assess the needs and understand their desires. If guidance is still needed by some adolescents, then that is the time to set some boundaries for them. In conclusion, parents will always desire what's best for their children. They can let them decide on their own for minor decisions and supervise them for major choices that they have to make in their lives as young adults.