Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recreational activities are considered to be the most effective method for any independent person to encourage himself in his day-to-day life. A few people are dedicating a certain amount of time in their daily routine life for this purpose. In this essay, I will discuss what is the need for this phenomenon, and also how it impacts the individual's life and eventually the overall society. The utmost important reason for people diverting their minds to these leisure time activities is to reduce their work-related stress. To be more precise, a working professional who is working for more than 12 hours on average needs a relaxation activity from mental stress to strike a balance. As per the survey results revealed by corporate tech giant IBM, for instance, 90% of their employees have at least one hobby as their favourite pass time like music, badminton etc. Otherwise, the impact of mental stress and sedentary lifestyle leads to humongous health problems with Diabetes and Blood pressure. Hence, involving themselves in various recreational activities are increasingly adopted in this modern world. There are stupendous positive impacts on human's life because of these hobbies, either it can be on a person or society. The primary one being, it helps an individual to rejuvenate himself and get motivated to be ready for next day routines. As per the initial research results of a UK based fitness tutor, for example, listening to music daily for an hour will release the Endorphin hormone in the body which acts as a pain killer. Apart from this, societies and the government will be unburdened from medical needs if health issues are toned down. Yoga practises as a daily habit which is highly recommended by the Indian prime minister, for illustration, has been helping their nation to combat illnesses to a greater extent. To conclude, very few citizens are allotting their time for hobbies. The important observation for this case is because of increased mental stress and its subsequent illnesses. The above essay covered the positive impact of these recreational activities for an individual to relax themselves and society to release from the medical issues.