Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

For some sections of society, reprimanding a child for his misdeeds is the most suitable technique of rectifying him for future. However, an equally strong lobby believes that appreciation and encouragement is a better way for inculcating society suitable behaviour and ettiquetes etiquette in children. I reckon that it is imperative for parents and guardians to inculcate a sense of demarcation between good and bad for the younger generations in their formative years with love and affection and not by harsh words and physical punishment. We all have come across an old proverb which says, 'spare the rod- spoil the child', however, in the present day scenario this proverb sounds out of context. Thanks to the wide world of internet, the younger generaion these days has an exposure to information beyond our imagination. They are aware, have access to new ideas and the have ability to differentiate between good and bad. In these circumstances, they need basic alignment and guidance form their mentors. There are numerous studies which have supported that fact that children who have repeatedly received any form of physical punishment at school or at home show a reluctance to improve and grow up to become individuals with supressed personalities. There have been instances where corporal punishments have caused greviouis physical injuries in children. On the contrary, the idea of making a child realize his/her mistake by having an open hearted talk not only ensures better understanding of the mistake but also instills a sense of responsibility in the child for future. I have come across many such examples in my lifetime where average students have performed exceptionally well after receiving constant support and appreciation form their tutors. The best example of positive re-enforcement is seen whild training dogs. The trainer rewards them after every command that they follow and associates reward with good behaviour. Human minds are also trained in a simialar way. To conclude, I strongly believe that teaching a child with logic and reasoning rather than physical or mental punishment, goes a long way in ensuring that they grow into strong positive minded adults.