It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects shouldn’t worry about producing building as a work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a great deal of attention has been paid to architectures. Some people insist that land developers should pay more attention to purposes of each building than its appearance. I strongly agree with this opinion because the first priority of buildings is to protect one’s life, and people do not care about its appearance. To begin with, the first reason why I believe architects should pay more attentions to purposes is that building may endanger one’s life. Usually, people spend almost of their time inside buildings such as schools, offices and houses. And severe accidents may happen as a result of defected building. Countries such as Japan especially care about function of building, since Japan has many earthquakes and the houses are required to be bear with the earthquakes. In addition to this, another reason why I supporting this idea is that people usually do not care about appearance. In general, the most important factor of building is what can they do inside the building. Take a shopping mall, for example, people care about what kind of stores are in the mall, and they do not care about how the building looks like. The only exception is architectures in traditional tourist destinations. For instance, convenience stores and fast food chain stores in Kyoto, where is famous for the old Japanese landscape, are ordered to change their color of logo marks and the exterior into quiet colors including brown for the sake of maintaining the landscape. To conclude, I reiterate my complete agreement with this topic. This is because serving purpose is important for protecting one’s life, and people hardly care about appearance of buildings.